Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

Standard

Reading:  If we have food and clothing, we shall be content with that.  Those who want to be rich are falling into temptation and into a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires, which plunge them into ruin and destruction.  For the love of money is the root of all evils, and some people in their desire for it have strayed from the faith and have pierced themselves with many pains.  (1 Timothy 6:8-10)

Observation:  This morning at our communion service I heard that I should not get into a discussion or be involved with gathering possessions.  It should be my life’s goal to get rid of my possessions, because of the fact that I did not bring anything into this world and it is not important for me to amass a bunch of stuff that I can’t take with me.  As my boys get older, I realize more and more that the kids they hang out with that don’t have a lot of stuff are the ones that I would rather have them hang out with.  I think that is probably true for all people that it is easier to approach someone who does not have a lot of stuff, rather than someone who is rich and proud of all of their possessions.

Personification:  Peace (Latin: pax  My focus after what I heard this morning is to be always content and peaceful about what the Lord has given me.  Anything that we don’t have, we don’t need and the idea that I have to keep up with the Jones’ is only the devil’s attempt at taking my peace.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to focus my attention on all of the things that are eternal in my life and to not be concerned about anything that does not help me be a better disciple of Jesus.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

4 thoughts on “Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment)

  1. Sarah

    Jay,
    This really spoke to me this morning. I just signed up with Twitter and don’t know a man I am more proud of than u bro! Keep spreading his word……
    Peace be with you <3

Leave a Reply

