Who will call on His name?

Standard

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  And whenever unclean spirits saw him they would fall down before him and shout, “You are the Son of God.”  (Mark 3:11)

Observation:  On first reading this verse this morning, I thought about how bad it is that we don’t call upon the name of the Lord more often in our own lives, since even the unclean spirits that saw him would fall down before him and shout his name.  However, in the notes on this verse in the New American Bible translation, it says that anytime an unclean spirit calls out Jesus’ name, they are trying to take his power by the notion that saying the name of an opposing spirit would guaranty mastery over it.  I guess for me, I think my first thought about this reading holds true, unless of course I ever see an unclean spirit using the name of Jesus to try and gain mastery over it, I must be willing to call upon the name of the Lord more often in my own life as a reminder to myself of who I belong to and a plea to have him always by my side.

Prayer:  Thank you Jesus, the Son of God, my savior for everything you have brought into my life and in advance for all the things that I know you will have done through me in your name.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “Who will call on His name?

  1. jeremy roebuck

    i understand where they could get the notion that the unclean spirits were trying to control his spirit. my first thought in readng this was that when the unclean spirits saw him and fell, they were accepting his dominance and fearing for their existence. i have to believe that no matter how far gone you become that forgiveness is given to those who seek him. for those spirits whom judgement has been cast, their ultimate suffering and eternal knowledge of wrongdoing must grant a sense of forgiveness to them. its weird to hink on those terms. to think that the damned have been forgiven by their acceptance ofeternal suffering.

    to fall of your knees and accept him without the desire of forgiveness may be what they were referring to. to mock the awesome power in a way the attempts to question his authority and dominance. i choose to believe that to witness and choose to deny his power is as a damned soul mocking his grace and authority.

    dear Lord, help me to fall before you and recieve your grace forever in my life. in the name of the father, and ofthe son, andof the holy spirit… amen

Leave a Reply

