Am I living the commandments?

Standard

heaven-1.jpg 0021 image by wilmaheijhoff

 

 

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment)

Reading:  Therefore, whoever breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do so will be called least in the kingdom of heaven. But whoever obeys and teaches these commandments will be called greatest in the kingdom of heaven.  (Matthew 5:19)

Observation:  This morning, I am struck by the idea of striving to be the greatest in heaven.  In trying to figure out how to teach these commandments, however, I am reminded that the best way to teach is to lead by example.  So, in order to be able to teach these commandments, I must be living them at all times.

Application:  Faith/Fidelity – The ability to stick to our work and to stay firm in our commitment to God and to God’s people with whom we are connected.  If I can truly display the fruit of faith/fidelity today and for the rest of my life, then I believe that I will be teaching others to keep the commandments.

Prayer:  Lord, it is with a humble heart that I come to you to ask to be the greatest in heaven, but only if I stay faithful to you and help others to follow your commandments for the rest of my life.  Please continue to supply me with the grace necessary to follow your commandments at all times.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Am I living the commandments?

  1. me

    Beautiful and I really hope that you find it easy to follow the commandments. You have a good heart and you aren’t the worst guy in the world. I’d pick you to play on my team and I’d pick you first.

Leave a Reply

