8 Readings, 8 Responsorial Psalms, 1 Gospel for tonight’s Vigil Mass…

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom

Reading:  Epistle:  Brothers and sisters:  Are you unaware that we who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death?  We were indeed buried with him through baptism into death, so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might live in newness of life.  For if we have grown into union with him through a death like his, we shall also be united with him in the resurrection.  We know that our old self was crucified with him, so that our sinful body might be done away with, that we might no longer be in slavery to sin.  For a dead person has been absolved from sin.  If, then, we have died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him.  We know that Christ, raised from the dead, dies no more; death no longer has power over him.  As to his death, he died to sin once and for all; as to his life, he lives for God.  Consequently, you too must think of yourselves as being dead to sin and living for God in Christ Jesus.  (Romans 6:3-11)

Observation:  Out of the 8 readings, 8 Responsorial Psalms and 1 Gospel reading from Luke, I have decided to focus on the Epistle, or letter, from Saint Paul to the Romans.  I actually chose the whole reading to journal on today in honor of the Easter Vigil where we celebrate the resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ, because  I believe if I have truly died to my old self in our Lord’s crucifixion that we heard about at our Good Friday service last night, I must also believe that I am no longer a slave to sin and am made a new creation along with our Lord’s resurrection and will now live for God in Christ Jesus.

Personification:  Goodness  Today and for the rest of my life, I hope to be able to display the fruit of goodness to everyone that I meet.  It will take an amazing amount of grace for me, a worthless sinner, to be able to display this fruit by conducting myself at all times in a manner that is worthy of the good news.  I do believe that God has supplied a sufficient amount of grace, so that I will be able to display this goodness if I continue to plug into the fountain of grace that comes through the sacraments.

Prayer:  Lord, please help me display the fruit of goodness by giving me the grace necessary to continue to conduct myself in a manner that is worthy of your Gospel.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “8 Readings, 8 Responsorial Psalms, 1 Gospel for tonight’s Vigil Mass…

Leave a Reply

