Salvation for his disciples…Satan for everyone else…Your choice?

Standard

Ice Sculpture - Shalom Dove

 Gift:  Knowledge

Reading:  Peace 12 I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give it to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid.  (John 14:27)

&

I will no longer speak much with you, for the ruler of the world 14 is coming.  (John 14:30a)

Observation:  After reading the first reading about Paul being stoned almost to death and seeing in the Responsorial Psalm for today a call to make the friends of the Lord known to us all, I was left with a feeling of where is the hope.  Ok, Paul did recover from the stoning to continue spreading the Good News, and we do hear that God’s kingdom is a kingdom for all ages.  However, the best news is from the Gospel that has Jesus giving peace to his disciples.  Of course, after we find out that Jesus is bringing us peace, and the peace that comes from salvation, he tells us that the ruler of this world is coming.  No need to worry, though, he has no power of Jesus.  I guess I am hearing this morning that I better make sure I am following Jesus if I am going to be able to withstand the devil.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, help me stay close to you and follow you all the days of my life.  Please bring your peace to my house and to our world, so that we can defeat the ruler of this world just like you did.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Salvation for his disciples…Satan for everyone else…Your choice?

Leave a Reply

