Not my will, but God’s will be done…

Standard

Here is the video reflection for the Gospel today…If you are reading my journal on any other day, you can click on the date of this entry on the calendar below the video and see Father Michael’s reflection for the Gospel that I reference in my journal.

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  “The LORD forbid,” Naboth answered him, “that I should give you my ancestral heritage.”  (1 Kings 21:3)

Observation:  After reading the first reading today, I am left to ponder whether Naboth knew that there would be retribution from Ahab for standing up to him.  However, when they came to honor him, he must have been filled with love for the Lord for honoring him for doing what was right in standing up for what is right.  As he died, though, he was probably left with the thought, I should have just given him the land.  I am left with the feeling that it must have been really hard to be a Jewish follower of the law during those days.

Personification:  Peace – Quiet, inner confidence that keeps us from feeling uptight and anxious.  After reading the Gospel today and hearing the video reflection, I am hoping that I can display the fruit of peace that comes from following the will of God.  Even though, at times the decision can feel like I am not doing what is best for my family, I must follow what I know God is calling me to and I know that I will be at peace.

Prayer:  Lord, help me be at peace with your will for my life and always display that peace to the people that I meet today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Not my will, but God’s will be done…

Leave a Reply

