Replace Israel and Judah with your name…

Standard

Googled, "Warning of the prophets"

Gift: Wisdom- With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading: And though the LORD warned Israel and Judah by every prophet and seer, “Give up your evil ways and keep my commandments and statutes, in accordance with the entire law which I enjoined on your fathers and which I sent you by my servants the prophets,”  (2 Kings 17:13)

&

You hypocrite, 3 remove the wooden beam from your eye first; then you will see clearly to remove the splinter from your brother’s eye.  (Matthew 7:5)

Observation: I have heard it said before that the old testament speaks to a generation or generations of people that were not graced with the holy Spirit like we are so they could never follow the law the way that we can.  However, I am hearing this morning that if we don’t give up our evil ways than we will be subject to the judgment.  To me, this judgment will be much more harsh because of the access that we have to the holy Spirit, unless we embrace a spirit of repentance that will bring us back to the righteous path that Jesus set before us.

Personification: Chastity – Able to form loving and caring friendships, which help us to act appropriately with our gift of sexuality.  It is my focus today and should be the focus of our whole community of faith to focus on right relationships with each other so that we can ensure that we will be acting appropriately with our gift of sexuality right now.

Prayer: Lord, help me to bring those people closer to me that will allow me to more fully realize your love by being able to share myself completely with them without fear of being used for their own selfish interests.   Keep me focused on your will, so that I can draw like minded disciples in to relationship with me and with the church.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Replace Israel and Judah with your name…

  1. mom

    I have said it a million times, who could stand on the beach watching the sun rise over the ocean and not believe in the awesome power of God. Nature shows us that only God could create creatures so perfect.

Leave a Reply

