Is your faith practical? According to the world or God?

Standard
Antonio Ciseri's Martyrdom of the Seven Maccab...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  One of the brothers, speaking for the others, said: “What do you expect to achieve by questioning us? We are ready to die rather than transgress the laws of our ancestors.”  (2 Maccabees 7:2)

&

1 Finally, brothers, pray for us, so that the word of the Lord may speed forward and be glorified, as it did among you, and that we may be delivered from perverse and wicked people, for not all have faith. But the Lord is faithful; he will strengthen you and guard you from the evil one.  (2 Thessalonians 3:1-3)

&

They can no longer die, for they are like angels; and they are the children of God because they are the ones who will rise. 9 (Luke 20:36)

Observation:  I heard in the video reflection for today that the Maccabees were a people who were very aware of a transcendent God.  It is only in the faith that God is with you that you could suffer in the face of such persecution like the brothers did in the first reading.  In the second reading for today, the Thessalonians are reminded by Paul of this transcendent God that will protect them and us from the evil one.  Finally, Jesus tells us in the Gospel that the reward for such faith and living with the knowledge of this transcendent God is that we will spend eternity as children of God, we will be like angels when God raises us as sons of the resurrection.

Personification:  Self-Control  With the knowledge that God is always with me, it should be easy to control what I do with my time.  The fruit of self-control comes from God and if he is in control of my life, than I will spend my time doing his will.  It sounds simple, but it is those times that I try to take control that get in the way of his will.  It is counter-cultural to act this way, I know, but I want to be concerned with what the Lord would have me do, not what some sinner(I) would choose for me.

Prayer:  Lord, make me into the child of God that you would have me be.  Please help me to forget about what I want and focus my attention on your will.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Is your faith practical? According to the world or God?

  1. This is a good blog message, I will keep the post in my mind. If you can add more video and pictures can be much better. Because they help much clear understanding. :) thanks Heishu.

Leave a Reply

