Thank you, Jesus!

Standard
Roma

Image by ferax via Flickr

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.  

    

Reading:  For we ourselves were once foolish, disobedient, deluded, slaves to various desires and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful ourselves and hating one another.  (Titus 3:3)

&

2 The LORD is my shepherd; there is nothing I lack.  In green pastures you let me graze; to safe waters you lead me; 3 you restore my strength.  You guide me along the right path for the sake of your name.  (Psalm 23:1b,3)

Observation:  I figured that I get enough reminders of my baptism that I didn’t want to make my reflection this morning about that reminder again.  However, after watching the video reflection this morning I heard that when we do finally realize our need of a Savior and we remember the sacrifice he made to forgive our sins, we need only say thank you. 

I would also like to say thank you to my Savior for forgiving my sin and for leading me in the right paths and revealing his truth to me through his Word, as we heard in Psalm 23 today.

Personification:  Peace  I know that this fruit may not seem like the correct one to focus on displaying after the verses from the readings I selected and the observation above, but I feel like a reminder of the fruit of peace is important in a time like now.  We enjoy a great amount of peace in this country, but there are other countries like Iraq who find it very difficult to be a disciple of Christ because of the oppression of the Christian religion by others.  I want to focus today on the peace that comes from God and my prayer will be directed at the oppressed Christians, who need our prayers right now.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for giving us our country that allows our freedom of religion.  Please send down your angels to protect those Christians that are persecuted in other countries and help them to enjoy the same freedom that we do.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Thank you, Jesus!

  1. I have a problem with the overall premise of your article but I still think its really informative. I really like your other posts. Keep up the great work. If you can add more video and pictures can be much better. Because they help much clear understanding. :) thanks Chribrenmark.

  2. I would be interested to know what exactly was your problem with my premise for this post. It was the guide that I used for leading our communion service and if my premise was flawed, I would rather not repeat it. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

