I, for one, am sick of making God sorry he made me…

Standard

  

Reading:  So the LORD said: “I will wipe out from the earth the men whom I have created, and not only the men, but also the beasts and the creeping things and the birds of the air, for I am sorry that I made them.”  (Genesis 6:7)

&

They had forgotten to bring bread, and they had only one loaf with them in the boat.  4 He enjoined them, “Watch out, guard against the leaven of the Pharisees and the leaven of Herod.”  (Mark 8:14-15)

Observation:  Today, I am hearing a reminder in the first reading from Genesis and from the gospel reading that evil is all around us and we must make a decision to follow Christ at all times or the evil will creep into our hearts.  He makes this admonition to his disciples as they are traveling with him in person at the onset of his miraculous ministry.  How much more do we have to be watchful against the leaven of the Pharisees and the leaven of Herod in a world that would like to forget about God?  In that way, we are living more in Noah‘s time of the first reading, than in Christ’s time of the gospel reading. 

Personification:   Self-Control  It is only by the grace of God and my ability to display the fruit of self-control by the power of the holy Spirit that I am not caught up in sin right now.  I must not forget that Christ has the power to work miracles in my life and the lives of those around me to not only to keep me from sin, but provide everything that I need in life to keep bringing his message to his people.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to fill my heart with your holy Spirit and give me the strength to follow your will today and forever.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Nelson and Michael behind the DJ table...?

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

One thought on “I, for one, am sick of making God sorry he made me…

  1. The biggest gift in all of existence is that we are given the Giver – the same Greatest One who was Jobs only satisfaction and Moses only strength is now given to humankind. When speaking about gifts of the Spirit were not talking about the gift of God though thats what lies behind all other gifts.

Leave a Reply

