An obstinately impenitent fellow Christian…

Standard
the Gospel of Matthew

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  “Do not give what is holy to dogs, 4 or throw your pearls before swine, lest they trample them underfoot, and turn and tear you to pieces.  6 “Do to others whatever you would have them do to you. This is the law and the prophets. 7 8 “Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the road broad that leads to destruction, and those who enter through it are many. How narrow the gate and constricted the road that leads to life. And those who find it are few.  (Matthew 7:6,12-14)

Observation:  When I first read the gospel reading in the context of the rest of the chapter, I was at a loss about why the church would have chosen to put these four verses together to make up our gospel reading today.  However, once I reflected on the footnotes for these four verses that I included in the copying and pasting of the reading, I realized that this was meant to be read in the context of my life.  I mean I know that all scripture is meant for us to read and apply to our own lives in some way, if God gives us the discernment to see how to do it.  However, today I specifically see God telling me to stop acting like a obstinately impenitent Christian and start following the Golden Rule in my life, and stop worrying about what others are doing or not doing.

Personification:  Kindness  It was between love and kindness today, and I chose kindness because I feel like if I could display this fruit today, I would be well on my way to treating others the way I would want to be treated.  I must remember that the narrow gate is not the one getting in to heaven, it is the one getting to enjoy the fruits of the holy Spirit, here on earth.

Prayer:  Lord, please allow me to lose myself in your holy Spirit today, and cause me to follow your will with reckless abandon.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “An obstinately impenitent fellow Christian…

  1. …Matthew 7 13-14 KJV says Enter ye in by the narrow gate for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leadeth to destruction and many be they that enter in their at because strait is the gate and narrow is the way which leadeth onto life and few there be that find it. As we travel along life s journey we do not do so blindly. Because of it Jesus tells us many are they that enter in there by. The problem with this gate and the way it is traveled is that it leads to destruction.The narrow gate is Christ.

  2. ..Enter ye in atthe strait gate for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leadeth to destruction and many there be which go in thereat Because strait is the gate and narrow is the way which leadeth unto life and few there be that find it. Donot await any sweet talks and look atit yourself..It is written that the strait gate leads to life.

Leave a Reply

