The point of all the discipline…At least for me!

Standard
St John and St Bartholomew

St John and St Bartholomew

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  Jesus saw Nathanael coming toward him and said of him, “Here is a true Israelite.* There is no duplicity in him.”  (John 1:47)

Observation:  I heard in this Gospel reading for today’s Mass readings that Jesus knew Nathanael’s character and obedience to the will of the Father, before he even met him.  I feel like Jesus knows my character and lack of obedience just as well as he knew Nathanael.  Therefore, instead of being automatically seen for the faithful disciple that he knew that Nathanael would be in Saint Bartholomew, Jesus sees me as a broken vessel, it is up to me to make sure that I am doing everything that I can to discipline my life so he can see that I know what I am and how much I need the grace of God to be his disciple.

Personification: Self-Control  It is up to me to be able to display the fruit of self-control, but I know that there has been duplicity in me in the past.  I know that with the grace of God going before me at all times, I can continue to display the fruit of self-control and give further proof to the saving power of God in his Son.

Prayer:  Lord, keep me focused on you at all times.  Please help me to understand the ways in which I have gone astray in the past and have mercy on me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “The point of all the discipline…At least for me!

Leave a Reply

