Where is your ministry?

Standard
Icon of Jesus Christ

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  I am grateful to him who has strengthened me, Christ Jesus our Lord, because he considered me trustworthy in appointing me to the ministry.j I was once a blasphemer and a persecutor and an arrogant man, but I have been mercifully treated because I acted out of ignorance in my unbelief.k Indeed, the grace of our Lord has been abundant, along with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus.  (1 Timothy 1:12-14)

Observation:  After I read all the readings this morning, I asked my son where his ministry is?  He initially answered “Basketball”, which is his answer for everything lately.  However, then I told him to think of the sphere of influence that surrounds you with all the people who are influenced by your actions.  This is a good reminder for me too, even though I am responsible for an actual ministry that the church has assigned to me, I can’t forget the sphere of influence in my life, both inside and outside of that ministry.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It is only when I can think of others first, before myself, do I believe that I can be really faithful to the gospel.  The gospel message today says to get the wooden beam out of your own eye before you try to remove the splinter from your brother’s eye.  I relate this, on a personal level, to my ability to effect change in others only when I am being faithful to where God is calling me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be faithful to your calling for me and hear the whisper of the holy Spirit when you are sending me to fulfill your mission for my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “Where is your ministry?

Leave a Reply

