To be related to God, I need only to hear his Word and act on it…

Standard
Jesus in the Gospels

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  He said to them in reply, “My mother and my brothers are those who hear the word of God and act on it.”*   (Luke 8:21)

Observation:  It appears to me that I am hitting kind of a softball pitch today, in choosing to journal on this verse because I know I have journaled on this concept of being in the same family of God by following the Word of God before.  However, it is a different reading this time that has more to do with what it means to be a brother to the Lord, than in Mark’s gospel where it has to do with our status as it relates to the Mother of God.  Before, I think I took a more conceited view of this position, instead of a humble view that Luke gospel is calling me to today.

Personification: Gentleness  My middle son, who is 9, is very sensitive to any form of discipline.  I could give you the many reasons I believe this happens, but I would rather see his emotional reaction as a barometer for me to see if I have crossed the line from discipline to anger.  I will display gentleness today and will see the fruit of that gentleness that manifests itself in my children.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to build in me a spirit of forgiveness and thankfulness for everything that you have done and will do in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

4 thoughts on “To be related to God, I need only to hear his Word and act on it…

Leave a Reply

