What is our excuse for not following Jesus today?

Standard

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  “I will follow you wherever you go.” Jesus answered him,”Foxes have dens and birds of the sky have nests,but the Son of Man has nowhere to rest his head.” And to another he said, “Follow me.” But he replied, Lord, let me go first and bury my father.” But he answered him, “Let the dead bury their dead. But you, go and proclaim the Kingdom of God.” And another said, “I will follow you, Lord, but first let me say farewell to my family at home.” Jesus answered him, “No one who sets a hand to the plow and looks to what was left behind is fit for the Kingdom of God.”  (Luke 9:58-62)

Observation:  For those of us who have said those words to Jesus before, “I will follow you”; this gospel today is pointing out the reasons we have all given for not really following him completely.  Nehemiah, in the first reading, stood up to the king because of his calling and asked him to be able to restore the temple in Jerusalem.  Most of us will never have to stand up to a king and ask him to support us in restoring the kingdom of God, but there is something that God is calling us to that may require us to leave our family behind and forget about those that died, and just follow Jesus.  I don’t believe this means that we have to forget about our obligations to our families or not honor those that have died, but only as it relates to following Jesus and spreading the good news of his salvation to the whole world.

Personification: Kindness  Today, I am feeling called to display the fruit of kindness to everyone I meet.  I am usually kind enough to the people I meet, but I am going to make an extra effort today to ask about and look after the needs of others today.

Prayer:  Lord, lead me to do the things that you would have me do to prepare this world for your return.  Come, Lord Jesus.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

One thought on “What is our excuse for not following Jesus today?

Leave a Reply

