Called to be holy…

Standard
Brooklyn Museum - The Birth of Our Lord Jesus ...
Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  Through him we have received the grace of apostleship, to bring about the obedience of faith, for the sake of his name, among all the Gentiles, among whom are you also, who are called to belong to Jesus Christ; to all the beloved of God in Rome, called to be holy.* Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.  (Romans 1:5-7)

Observation:  The question for me is, how am I called to be holy?  Saint Paul is not just talking to the people of Rome, but I think we should see that he is talking to all the people of the world who would consider themselves Christians.  I should not shrink from the challenge to act like a saint would act, because I am a sinner.  Rather, because I am a sinner, I am called to repent of my sin and replace that sin with more holy action.

Personification:  Faithfulness  No matter what it is that God calls me to today, I want to be ready to answer that call.  I don’t care if others see it as holy, I only hope that others can see my obedience to the will of the Father.

Prayer:  Lord, not as I would want, rather your will be done in me and through me today and every day for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Called to be holy…

  1. I enjoyed reading your post! I think what Paul wrote to the Romans applies to Christians today as well. Also, in Ephesians 1:1 Paul addresses the recipients as “faithful saints” which I also think applies to us still? As I read My Utmost for His Highest along with the Bible, I think I am beginning to see myself as God sees me, and not as I see me. I see myself as a sinner, but I believe that because I am clothed with Christ God sees me as a redeemed saint. I sin, I fall, but that is not who I am. Who I am, is His. Blessings to you as you continue to seek Him and lead others to Him as well!

Leave a Reply

