When it comes to repentance of my sins, I consider this the end times…

Standard
Fig Tree
Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom- With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  He said to him in reply, ‘Sir, leave it for this year also, and I shall cultivate the ground around it and fertilize it; it may bear fruit in the future. If not you can cut it down.’  (Luke 13:8-9)

Observation:  When I look at my life, I don’t see any fruit that would be worthy of being picked from my fig tree, because none of it is ripe and full-grown yet.  As I read the gospel today, I am reminded that my life and this world will not go on forever, and I consider the parable that Jesus tells of the fig tree being left for one more year, as my call to repentance and a call to preach the good news with a renewed sense of urgency.

Personification:  Generosity  Since it is the grace of God that is saving me from acting out my sinful nature, I must be willing to let that grace pass through me to others.  It is only when I act out of the generosity that comes as a fruit of the spirit that I can be sure of receiving continued grace to fight off the evil that resides in my flesh.

Prayer:  Lord, please help me to live in your spirit that you have given me and turn away from my flesh.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “When it comes to repentance of my sins, I consider this the end times…

  1. Funny you write about this. Just wrote about these concepts over the last few weeks:

    http://firstsouthernbaptistofcoalinga.wordpress.com/2011/10/15/fruit-picker-robots/

    http://firstsouthernbaptistofcoalinga.wordpress.com/2011/10/22/busy-bees/

    http://firstsouthernbaptistofcoalinga.wordpress.com/2011/10/08/morning-is-almost-here/

    I really feel like the Holy Spirit has been moving many Christians and Churches and Pastors to speak on this subject lately. I have heard other messages/podcasts and read other blogs all saying similiar things. We have all become so complacent with our personal fruit bearing, reaching others and growing the Kingdom of God. Time is short, we need to get busy and get to work growing fruit in our own lives, so we can grow the Kingdom of God. Thank you for your blog!

Leave a Reply

