“The clean of hand and pure of heart, who has not given his soul to useless things…” (Psalm 24:4ab)

Standard
Christogram with Jesus Prayer in Romanian: Lor...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  Beloved, we are God’s children now; what we shall be has not yet been revealed. We do know that when it is revealed* we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. Everyone who has this hope based on him makes himself pure, as he is pure.  (1 John 3:2-3)

Observation:  I don’t know if today’s Psalm that was picked for the Responsorial was meant to go together with the second reading, but it sure did for me today.  As I struggle with living in this world, I must remember that doing things for the sake of doing them, is useless.  If I am to stay pure, I must only be involved in activities that have the purpose of building up his kingdom.  It is true that I will not always choose the best course of action in my life, because of my sinful nature, but I can control what activities that I involve myself in, and only choose the ones that I know will serve his higher purpose for my life.  I do not know yet what that purpose is, but I know that it will look a lot like Jesus when I find it, as the second reading says.

Personification:  Gentleness  I hope that I can display more gentleness in my life today, not only with others, but also with myself.  I need to remember that I did not learn to sin in a day, so I will not learn how to turn from sin in a day.  It has taken me a long time to get to a point in my life where I feel like I can rely on God’s power to save me from sin, and it will take a little while longer to rid my life of all of my old sinful habits.  I hope it won’t be that long, because I want to be rid of my old self and let God make me a new creation.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on ““The clean of hand and pure of heart, who has not given his soul to useless things…” (Psalm 24:4ab)

Leave a Reply

