Be on your guard…(Forgive, not so freely?)

Standard
~day 306: the nature of God~
Image by theroamincatholic via Flickr

Gift:  Wisdom- With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  Be on your guard!* If your brother sins, rebuke him; and if he repents, forgive him. And if he wrongs you seven times in one day and returns to you seven times saying, ‘I am sorry,’ you should forgive him.”  (Luke 17:3-4)

Observation:  I read through the readings and was reminded of a song that talks about justice and mercy that I will share with my sister on Facebook for her birthday.  However, I could not get away from these verses in the gospel reading for today’s Mass.  Jesus is talking about forgiveness, and it is a good reminder to me that I do not have to feel compelled to forgive someone until they have repented of the evil that they have done to me.

Personification:  Love  Since today is my little sister’s birthday, I will focus on displaying the fruit of love to her.  I will also focus on display the love of God to everyone else that I come in contact with today, because of the love that I have for my sister.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the fruit of love to everyone today, as a form of prayer for my sister, so that she will know more about your perfect love in her life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Be on your guard…(Forgive, not so freely?)

  1. internet elias

    Good thoughts, Jason. I discussed this scripture with a friend the other day. We discussed the little mentioned portion of ‘if he repents.’ God only forgives in the face of repentance…true repentance which brings a change in behavior…a righting of wrongs…when possible. Forgiveness and repentance are both serious subjects. Seemingly, forgiveness is only possible in response to repentance.

    Again, good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

