Thank you Father David Leo Xavier Jaspers…

Standard

Holy Spirit Stained GlassGift:  Wisdom- With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  As he drew near, he saw the city and wept over it,saying, “If this day you only knew what makes for peacebut now it is hidden from your eyes.”  (Luke 19:41-42)

Observation:  As I read the readings this morning, I just stared at them waiting for God to speak through something that I could journal on.  I got nothing, but it is not the first time it has happened, so I wasn’t surprised.  However, I was surprised when I got to Mass this morning and part of the two verses that I copied above was all the Father Jaspers had to say in his homily.  It was surprising because we are a lot alike in that the holy Spirit moving in us usually results in long discussions about what it could potentially mean to us today.  Anyway, his comments were that the rest of the readings could be discussed at length, but an abbreviated morning Mass was not the time to do it.  Therefore, he asked as Jesus did, “If this day we only knew what makes for peace.”

Personification:  Peace  I am not going to presume that I know what makes for peace in our troubled world, but as I journaled about when Father mentioned this verse in his homily, I will focus on personal peace that comes to me from the grace of God.  I will defer to Saint Francis, as I do on a regular basis during my journaling for what makes for this personal peace and I will pray that God graces me with it.

Prayer:  (Saint Francis Prayer)  Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.  Where there is hatred, let me sow love.  Where there is injury, pardon.  Where there is doubt, faith.  Where there is despair, hope.  Where there is darkness, joy.  O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console; to be understood, as to understand; to be loved, as to love.  For it is in giving that we receive.  It is in pardoning that we are pardoned, and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “Thank you Father David Leo Xavier Jaspers…

  1. One of my all time special quotes appears really fitting here “Success is nothing more than a few simple disciplines, practiced every day; while failure is simply a few errors in judgment, repeated every day. It is the accumulative weight of our disciplines and our judgments that leads us to either fortune or failure.”–Jim Rohn

Leave a Reply

