Stand in the way of sinners…?

Standard

Jesus H. ChristGift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked, Nor stand in the way* of sinners, nor sit in company with scoffers.  Rather, the law of the LORD* is his joy; and on his law he meditates day and night.  (Psalms 1:1-2)

Observation:  As I read the readings this morning, I was looking for something to journal on the in the first reading or the gospel, after I had already heard the responsorial psalm screaming at me that it was just what I needed to hear.  It is funny how even when we have the Word of God speaking to us, we can still be looking for something that we want to hear, versus what God is actually revealing.  The explanation of “the way”, as it is used in the 1st verse of the 1st Psalm, is just what I needed to hear.  I can only count on being blessed, if I remember that the things that I take pleasure in, should not be the same things that sinners do.  In other words, even though other people are involved in sinful behavior, it does not give me the right to take part in it.

Personification:  Love  On other occasions when I have read these verses, I have heard the admonition to not keep company with sinners, and then saw Jesus do exactly that, and this was an obstacle to my faith.  Today, I will try to hear more exactly the words of these verses and love the sinners, but do not love the sinful way they behave.  In order to be an example of God’s love to others, I should not shy away from the places that sinners hang out, but remember the disciple that I am, and keep away from the sinful nature that those places may bring out in me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me learn your way more completely, so I can keep away from my old sinful ways.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

7 thoughts on “Stand in the way of sinners…?

  1. [32] “If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even ‘sinners’ love those who love them. [33] And if you do good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you? Even ‘sinners’ do that. [34] And if you lend to those from whom you expect repayment, what credit is that to you? Even ‘sinners’ lend to ‘sinners,’ expecting to be repaid in full. [35] But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked. [36] Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.

  2. Kerubo

    That was a lovely morning devotion, God bless you. About where sinners hang out, God can send someone to minister but there are places one should not normally frequent except on a mission to build His Kingdom.. When God sends HE says where and how :) Psalm 119:105

    • Thanks for the comment, and you expressed my sentiments exactly about my last trip to Las Vegas for a family reunion of sorts. I spent the whole time trying to get my brothers and sisters to experience my faith that was a gift from God. I don’t know if it worked, but I am sure God was pleased with the effort. I pray that the holy Spirit continues to work on them and through them to bring about their full conversion and mine. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

