If God is calling, I should listen and respond quickly…Right?

Standard
The Second Coming of Christ window at St. Matt...

Second Coming of Christ

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  Ask for a sign from the LORD, your God; let it be deep as Sheol, or high as the sky!*  (Isaiah 7:11)

Observation:  Before I started reading this morning, my Twitter friend, Father Mabura

, tweeted that we should ask for a sign.  It was a reference to this chapter and verse that I have quoted above.  However, I ignored it because I received a Twitter post of the daily readings right after that said to “Let the Lord enter; he is the king of glory.”  It was in reference to the response from the responsorial psalm for the today’s readings.  The reason I should not have ignored it, because when I looked out the window, I saw a beautiful sunrise, similar to one I saw just the other day that almost made me get in an accident driving or at least a reckless driving ticket.  Fortunately, I didn’t get either, but the memory of that sunrise that morning and again this morning, I believe is a sign of something that is coming.  It could be that it is the coming celebration of Christmas that God is reminding me of, as if we need any reminders of that.  It could be that I need to remember that the second coming of Jesus is going to come like a thief in the night, and I need to make sure that I am prepared, as well as those people that I can have an effect on to call them to conversion.

Personification:  Joy  It is sometimes difficult to remember to display real joy during this time of year.  There seems to be so much counterfeit joy that is supported by consumerism in our society, that the real joy of the incarnation of God’s Son in our world is lost.  I want to remember this week, as we prepare for Christmas, that the real celebration is about God’s coming into our reality to show us the way to really love each other.

Prayer:  Lord, let me be an instrument of joy in your world today and everyday that I have left here to share your joy with everyone I come in contact with.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “If God is calling, I should listen and respond quickly…Right?

Leave a Reply

