Children, it is the last hour…

Standard

Gift: Fortitude / Courage

Reading: Children, it is the last hour; and just as you heard that the antichrist was coming, so now many antichrists have appeared. Thus we know that this is the last hour. (1 John 2:18)

Observation: In the footnotes for this verse of John’s letter, there is no attempt to explain away the fact of what Saint John is saying, by saying that he expected the return of Jesus in his time and that is why he said what he said. The truth as I see it is that the knowledge of this being the last hour provides the evangelist motivation to spread the Word with more zeal and speed. Imagine if the apostles would have thought they were not going to see Jesus again in their lifetime or in the lifetime of their loved ones. I would guess the many souls could have been lost to the evil one that would have never had the chance to repent because they thought they had plenty of time to call the world to repentance.

Personification: Peace It is my hope that I can deliver the Good News in my time with the same zeal it was delivered by the original Apostles. We may have not been able to see Jesus walk the earth, but we can see the impact his life had on those twelve men and I hope I can recreate that expediency by which they spread the Good News, in our time today.

Prayer: Lord, help me remember that the future of this world is not a promise from God, but the future of Christ’s second coming is a promise and deliver the Good News with the sense of urgency that knowledge requires. I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!