The devil is the father of lies, even the ones we tell ourselves!

Standard
This is what he wants us to look like...

This is what he wants us to look like…

Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and awe)

Reading: Whoever sins belongs to the Devil,
because the Devil has sinned from the beginning.
Indeed, the Son of God was revealed to destroy the works of the Devil. (1 John 3:8)

Observation: This morning, I woke up to my son telling me about a nightmare that he had last night. I ended our discussion in the same way most nightmare discussions end with my children, and that is with telling him that the only fear he should have while he is awake is a fear of the Lord. I also shared this reading with my two older boys this morning and we prayed the Saint Michael the Archangel prayer together. To me, this reading is a great reminder of who the devil is in our world and that we have to remember that Jesus has destroyed his works before, but he cannot stop us from conspiring with him in the future. It must be our free will choice to decide to not believe his lies, so we can more aligned with the truth that comes from God.

Personification: Self-Control  Why is it that we are afraid to say the name of the devil. The power he has is given to him by our decision to agree with him. The only name that has power on its own is Jesus. I will try to remember the scripture that is referenced in this reading. In John 8:44, Jesus says, “You belong to the father the devil and you willingly carry out your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning and does not stand in truth, because there is no truth in him. When he tells a lie he speaks in character, because he is a liar and the father of lies.”

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for revealing the truth of who the devil is and continue to help me see your truth in our world and not accept the lies that come from the father of lies. I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!

This is how God see us...

This is how God see us…

4 thoughts on “The devil is the father of lies, even the ones we tell ourselves!

  1. It was so amazing how the pictures just happened…I was planning to use a picture with my post, but the one that I took first just came out perfectly to illustrate the vision…Thanks for noticing…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

