Jesus, come in to my heart and suppress the evil that would defile me…

Standard
No Evils-01061

No Evils-01061 (Photo credit: subsetsum)

Gift:  Wisdom- With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  But what comes out of a person, that is what defiles. From within people, from their hearts, come evil thoughts, unchastity, theft, murder, adultery, greed, malice, deceit, licentiousness, envy, blasphemy, arrogance, folly. All these evils come from within and they defile.”  (Mark 7:20-23)

Observation:  In the first reading, we hear how King Solomon was envied for his great riches and his incredible wisdom by Queen Sheba.  As I think about all the amazing riches and honor that he paid to God in the temple that was built in Jerusalem, I can’t help thinking about even with all of his wisdom and praise he gave to God, he could not get away from the evil that was within him.  We hear about all of his wives later, and the some of the same evils that overcame his father, King David, that would fall upon him too.  However, Jesus is listing for us those evils that can well up inside of us, to remind us that it is our heart that we must ask him to guard for us.  In my opinion, if we waste time asking God to guard our wealth or even our physical being from harm, we could very well be open to allowing one of these evils to well up inside of us and rear its ugly head.  Of all the evils listed, I had to look up licentiousness, because it didn’t immediately come to mind when I read it.

Personification:  Peace  It is my hope that after reading the list of things that could well up in my heart, I won’t forget to ask Jesus to guard it for me and if I lack the fortitude necessary to make it to the sacrifice of the Mass and receive him into the temple that is my body, as a means of agreeing that I need Jesus to save me from myself, this list could come back to haunt me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to always keep in mind my need for you to be my Savior, especially from my evil thoughts.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “Jesus, come in to my heart and suppress the evil that would defile me…

Leave a Reply

