The precepts of the Lord give joy to the heart. (Psalm 19:9a)

Standard
3rd quarter of 16th century

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:   Wisdom- With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  * He said to them, “This kind can only come out through prayer.”  (Mark 9:29)

Observation:  It is by God’s grace that I made it to Mass this morning.  I assumed that since there is a holiday at the office, there would be no Mass this morning, but I was pleasantly surprised to be called to let some people into the chapel, and once I got there, Father was in the chapel and they were singing the opening hymn in Spanish.  I don’t understand all the prayers and readings in Spanish yet, but it is still Jesus present in the Eucharist and I still love to be in his presence while there is a room full of people praising him.  It is the prayer that comes from Mass and a life focused on God that will save us from evil.  This may not be exactly what Jesus is talking about in the Gospel today, but it is what I am hearing.

Personification:  Joy  I can think of no better way to personify the fruit of joy, than to smile.  As now, Cardinal Dolan, the Archbishop of New York,  said in his address to the Consistory on the day before he was appointed Cardinal with the other 21 other Cardinals, that he heard when he was in the seminary, a homily that consisted of a call to smile when they were walking around Rome, to show the joy that comes from their experience of faith in Jesus.

Prayer:  Lord, I hope that the joy that comes from your sacrifice on the cross will be ever-present in my face and my demeanor, so that everyone who meets me will know that I have faith in you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “The precepts of the Lord give joy to the heart. (Psalm 19:9a)

Leave a Reply

