Save me, O Lord, in your kindness…

Standard
Matthew

Matthew

Gift:   Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  But it shall not be so among you. Rather, whoever wishes to be great among you shall be your servant; whoever wishes to be first among you shall be your slave.  (Matthew 20:25-27)

Observation:  I have heard many times about people who have servant hearts, and I know a few of them pretty well, I think.  The message I am hearing today, from the Gospel verse I chose both today and yesterday, is that the only way to be truly fulfilling God’s mission for us in this life, is to become a servant.  If we truly wish to be joyful in this life, we must be a slave to other people’s needs and not to our own.

Personification:  Kindness  In my life, I know that when I have embraced this practice of being a servant, I have been the most fulfilled and full of life.  It is only when I am trying to make a point or more directly my point, that I feel troubled or at odds with what God is calling me to.  I will focus today on displaying the fruit of kindness to everyone that I meet today, and hopefully they will ask me for something and allow me to fulfill God’s mission for me.

Prayer:  Lord, give me a servant’s heart and remind me that I am the full of joy when I am serving others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

(My original title for this journal entry was, “What makes me feel fulfilled?”  I got a tweet from the USCCB about the daily readings, that started with the response from the Responsorial Psalm for today, as I was finishing my prayer…God is enough!

2 thoughts on “Save me, O Lord, in your kindness…

Leave a Reply

