Saint Frances of Rome, pray for us…

Standard
Frances of Rome

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom- With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  Who can find* a woman of worth? Far beyond jewels is her value. Her husband trusts her judgment; he does not lack income. She brings him profit, not loss,* all the days of her life.  (Proverbs 31:10-12)

Observation:  I read the standard readings for Mass this morning, I was left with the hope that Father Jaspers would shed some light on what I was supposed to hear from the Word of God.  However, after his homily consisted of an explanation of how a Bishop is chosen, since a local Pastor was just selected as the new Bishop of Baker Diocese.  So, I was left with the idea that nothing from the standard readings was speaking to him either.  Now, when I finally got to pray the Office in the church after Mass, I realized that the alternate readings for Saint Frances of Rome were probably where it was at today, and once I got home this afternoon and found the readings, that was it.  It is the general idea that I must learn to see my wife as the jewel that she is, and realize that I can trust her judgement and know that she will bring me profit, not loss.

Personification:   Patience  It is only by displaying the fruit of patience and being obedient to the will of God, that I can be able to value my wife for the beautiful creation of God that she is.  I hope that I can bear the things that I see as injustice in my life, as Saint Frances of Rome did, that I can be sure that the things that give glory to God will be able to be accomplished through me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be a better husband to my wife and walk in your ways and not in mine.  Saint Frances of Rome, pray for us.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Saint Frances of Rome, pray for us…

Leave a Reply

