The prodigal returns, again?

Standard
Return of the prodigal son

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading: Who is a God like you, who removes guilt and pardons sin for the remnant of his inheritance; Who does not persist in anger forever, but instead delights in mercy,And will again have compassion on us, treading underfoot our iniquities?  (Micah 7:18-19ab)

Observation:  Rather than pick a particular verse from the Gospel reading for today, I am reminded by the story of the prodigal son that every time that I think that I sin, I have taken my inheritance and squandered it, but it only takes my turning back to the Father again, for him to accept me back again.  We serve a merciful God, who knows our tendency to sin and therefore welcomes us back when we realize that it was ridiculous to try to venture out on our own, and we know if we wander again that he will be waiting for our return again.

Personification:   Joy  It is my hope that I can display the fruit of joy that I can imagine the son in Jesus’ story would display on seeing his Father welcome him back home the way that he did.  It is not that hard to imagine that the God who wants me to join myself to his will for eternity, would be overjoyed at seeing my willingness to leave my past sins behind and follow Him.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be more aware of the times that I am willingly asking for my inheritance before it is time for me to receive it, so that I will not wander too far off course.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “The prodigal returns, again?

Leave a Reply

