Why don’t we accept the simple truth of God’s love?

Standard

Repent and Believe in the Gospel

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  So Naaman went down and plunged into the Jordan seven times, according to the word of the man of God. His flesh became again like the flesh of a little child, and he was clean.  (2 Kings 5:14)

&

And he said, “Amen, I say to you, no prophet is accepted in his own native place. Indeed, I tell you, there were many widows in Israel in the days of Elijah when the sky was closed for three and a half years and a severe famine spread over the entire land.* It was to none of these that Elijah was sent, but only to a widow in Zarephath in the land of Sidon. Again, there were many lepers in Israel during the time of Elisha the prophet; yet not one of them was cleansed, but only Naaman the Syrian.”  (Luke 4:24-27)

Observation:  I was blessed to be able to attend our Communion Service at the small chapel in the education center of our church this morning.  The service was in Spanish, so I made sure and read the readings to make sure I had an idea of the context of the reading before I heard it read.  Usually, I get joy from hearing the readings read and understanding a few words and getting the gist of the context, because I have read it beforehand.  This morning, I could hear God speaking through a word that I actually realized during the service that I had mis-translated.  The word was “cuando”, and I translated it is “where”, instead of when in my head.  However, it caused me to think about the context of the Gospel reading as it related to me, and I realized that God was saying to me that it may be difficult for me to accept the prophecy that comes from myself, rather than the people around me accepting any prophecy that may be given to me for them.  As I said to my wife when I returned from the service, it is simple for someone to come to God from the outside of the church, but sometimes we make it very difficult for ourselves to go deeper in our faith from inside the church.  I think Jesus is saying here that we should stop acting like the path is difficult and accept that it is very simple.  Pray, read scripture & spiritual reading, attend Mass and go to confession…Pretty simple!

Personification:  Gentleness  I discussed with my wife this morning, how difficult it is for me to see myself displaying the fruit of gentleness, but I will focus on it more often because I am probably making it more difficult than it really is.  The truth is, gentleness and compassion flow freely from God to me, so they should flow freely from me to others as well, if I living in God’s grace.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay in your grace and follow your will by simply living the way that you did, and don’t let me make difficult what you have already made simple.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

4 thoughts on “Why don’t we accept the simple truth of God’s love?

Leave a Reply

