Nothing happens without God’s knowledge of it…

Standard
English: Jesus Christ - detail from Deesis mos...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  However, be on your guard and be very careful not to forget the things your own eyes have seen, nor let them slip from your heart as long as you live, but make them known to your childreng and to your children’s children.  (Deuteronomy 4:9)

Therefore, whoever breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do so will be called least in the kingdom of heaven. But whoever obeys and teaches these commandments will be called greatest in the kingdom of heaven.*  (Mark 5:19)

Observation:  It is not for the glory of being called the greatest in the kingdom that I remind my children of their obligation to follow the will of God and not their own will, it is for their own good.  It sounds like a saying we hear all the time, “It is for your own good.”  However, it truly is for their own good, because we know that nothing good comes from evil and everything that is good comes from God.   If Jesus says this about the least of the Commandments, how much more would he say about the greatest commandment to love Him alone?  I could have tried to ignore the issue that was right in front of my face, but God would see that I ignored it.

Personification:  Love  I hope that in the discipline that I am giving my children to see that it is not worth selling their soul to gain the world, they see that the love of God and his commandments is what I am trying to model for them.  I hope that they will see my heart that loves them enough to not let them make the same mistakes I did.  Maybe they still will make some of the same mistakes I have, because I am not a very good model of obeying God myself, but at least God will know that I tried, and I hope, by the grace of God, they will learn the lesson before it can really hurt them.

Prayer:  Lord, it is only by experience that I have gained the wisdom necessary to accept the grace of God as enough to keep my sinfulness at bay, but I hope that you will grant this wisdom to my children and family through the Sacraments and your church, so they will not have to wait to turn 40 to give themselves fully to God.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

4 thoughts on “Nothing happens without God’s knowledge of it…

  1. Jason – I identify deeply with what you wrote. We are kings and priests in our homes. We must exercise Godly authority and service for our children. Let Him work through us and let us be humble in this role. Thank you and bless you, Vince

    • Amen Vince.
      It feels like kings have it easier, because society has marginalized the need for the authority of priests and fathers…At least kings are still recognized as having authority over their subjects, and I wonder really if our world even recognizes any authority, other than personal authority to act in your own interest…Sorry for the rant, but I thought it was appropriate…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

