I asked the boys two day ago…What is the first and greatest Commandment?

Standard
3rd quarter of 16th century

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  Jesus replied, “The first is this: ‘Hear, O Israel! The Lord our God is Lord alone! You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.’The second is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”  (Mark 12:29-31)

Observation:  It was yesterday morning that my 13 year old son woke up saying that he was pretty sure he had figured out how he could wear Nike clothes every day of the week.  Keep in mind, it is truly by the grace of God and my Mother’s generosity that he has any Nike clothes at all.  So, I was prompted to ask both my 13-year-old, Chad, and my almost 10-year-old son, Kobe, “What is the first and greatest Commandment?”  The answer from Chad was, “Uh, I don’t know.”  The answer from my 10-year-old was, “Isn’t it, thou shall not kill?”  Answer, no.  He followed up with, “Isn’t it, you should love God alone, and have no other gods besides him?”  Answer, yes.  They didn’t answer the question like Jesus, but I guess at least they got to it eventually.

Personification:  Faithfulness  In reflecting on the events of the other morning, and remember the words of Father Daniel’s homily on Wednesday night at Mass, I realize that to display the fruit of faithfulness, I must do a better job passing the faith on to my children.  I have been blessed with four beautiful children, and I need to remember that the best way to give glory to God and to thank Him for entrusting me with them, is to make sure that they are directed to follow His will for them.

Prayer:  Lord, I know that I cannot remember to follow Your will for me without being constantly reminded by Your grace that I receive from the Sacrament of the Eucharist and Reconciliation, so I hope that I will remember to constantly remind my children of the grace that can save us all.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “I asked the boys two day ago…What is the first and greatest Commandment?

  1. Jason – They did great! And you did too! We have 5 boys, between 5 and 17 y.o. This is the hardest part of may faith walk by far… sharing authentically with them. I want to teach, lecture, and control… Jesus wants to give His heart to them. Deep down, there is a little Pharisee in me that wants to take some part in their salvation, even if it is just a little bit… hopefully that little Pharisee stays out of the way long enough for the Spirit to get a hold of them. For His Glory, Vince

    • I pray that I can stay out of the way too, not just for my boys, but my wife and daughter too. It was easier when I didn’t care, but life was never fulfilling like it is now…God bless you!

Leave a Reply

