“I cannot do anything on my own.” Jesus

Standard
Probably an image of Jesus from St. Johns gosp...

Probably an image of Jesus from St. Johns gospel in a miniature from Vukan's Gospel, end of the twelfth century, by some held to be an image of the Evangelist (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading: I cannot do anything on my own; I judge as I hear, and my judgment is just, because I do not seek my own will but the will of the one who sent me.”  (John 5:30)

Observation:  I don’t know how many times I have read this part of the Gospel and just glossed over the fact that Jesus is modeling for us how to act in the will of the Father.  We know that Jesus is God, so the fact that he could or couldn’t do anything on his own is debatable.  However, if we are truly trying to do the will of the Father because he is the one who sent us, why do we always try to do things on our own?  I guess I should just be speaking for myself, but phrases like, “God helps those, who help themselves”  and other such rubbish come to mind.  The truth is, God will only be able to help me grow spiritually closer to Him, if I stop helping myself to whatever pleasure or fleshly desire I want.

Personification:  Love  It is my focus today to stay in the grace of God to be able to put on display the fruit of love that comes from God, who is love.  I hope to be able, by the inspiration of the holy Spirit, to stop trying so hard to please God and just do what he tells me to do, with the resources that He has given me.

Prayer:  Lord, let me be an instrument of your love.  Please help me to stay out of your way and allow your love to pass through me to others today and everyday for the rest of eternity.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

4 thoughts on ““I cannot do anything on my own.” Jesus

  1. Again Jason, we are very much in tune spiritually. The risk I run is that sometimes my faith gives me such courage that my pride tries to sneak in and ruin it all… and all the world sees it. My challenge is to retain the humility required of grace.

Leave a Reply

