How could they doubt after the resurrection?

Standard
Text of "Our Father" prayer with Tri...

Text of “Our Father” prayer with Trinity in central column (God the Father, dove of the Holy Spirit, Jesus) and Biblical and symbolic scenes in left and right columns. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  * When they saw him, they worshiped, but they doubted.  (Matthew 28:17)

Observation:  If I analyze this verse it can tell me a lot about my ability to accept the truth, even when it is slapping me in the face.  The apostles saw him and worshipped him, but they doubted.  The apostles just witnessed the resurrection and were witness to the miracles that Jesus performed, but still they doubted.  We are witnesses To all the things that are written about Jesus and all the Saints that came before us, and all the miracles that have been performed in their lives and ours, yet we still have doubts.  I guess the good news is that we are in good company.

Personification:  Joy  So many times in my life, I have heard the Good News and not reacted to it.  I want to put the fruit of joy on full display in my life, to show everyone that the truth of Jesus in our midst, along with the Father and the Holy Spirit, rallying us to live holy lives, can only be true if we allow God to work through us and show the joy that compliance with God’s will, will give us.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay joyful in all things that you have created me to do and remember to hate evil.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit…Amen!

2 thoughts on “How could they doubt after the resurrection?

  1. What was it the apostles doubted? Was it Jesus or themselves? I don’t know, but I wonder. Why? In the next few lines Jesus gives the Apostles the Great Commission, and Pentecost had yet to come.

    To a large extent, what faith is about is the belief we have in ourselves. However, as the Apostle Paul observed, Christian faith is something very different.

    Philippians 4:13 Amplified Bible (AMP)

    I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency].

Leave a Reply

