You can tell the future…

Standard
Corcovado jesus

Corcovado jesus (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading: Amos answered Amaziah, “I am not a prophet,* nor do I belong to a company of prophets. I am a herdsman and a dresser of sycamores, but the LORD took me from following the flock, and the LORD said to me, ‘Go, prophesy to my people Israel.’  (Amos 7:14-15)

&

When the crowds saw this they were struck with awe and glorified God who had given such authority to human beings.  (Matthew 9:8)

Observation:  As it says in the footnotes for the 8th verse of this Gospel reading from the Mass for 7/5/12, Matthew was saying this about man’s authority, because it was being challenged in his time in his church.  It is true that we are still having the authority challenged today in the church.  I submit, after reading the readings yesterday, especially these two verses listed above, and watching the reflection from the bishop’s website, I am the problem.  Not just me, but you as well.  If we are called to imitate Christ in our daily lives, why are we not telling the future like he did.  I am not talking about looking into a crystal ball or anything like that, but rather listening to the holy Spirit and telling people what God has revealed to us after discerning that the message came from him by making sure it aligns with what Jesus said in scripture.
Personification:  Patience  In order to focus on displaying the fruit of patience in my life today, I will remember to be patient with myself first, and patience for others will flow from the fact that I don’t lose it on myself.  The truth is, I am not perfect,  but Jesus is, and he makes up the difference for me when I can’t be perfect.
Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  Thank you for the free gift of grace that allows me to see the world through your eyes, and help me to continue to see it only through your eyes.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.
2 thoughts on “You can tell the future…

    • Brad,
      I am glad you love the post, and the truth is that man has the authority through the church to do everything that Jesus did, which includes to tell the future, or prophecy. We only need to listen to the voice of the Holy Spirit and discern that what we are hearing is coming from God, by looking at what the church is saying and the Word of God or scripture. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

