God says, “His number is six hundred and sixty-six.”

Standard

Sorry, I started to write this post on Saturday, and for some reason it was a struggle to get it done.  When I got back to it late Saturday evening, I couldn’t even find it on my phone or my tablet to finish writing it.  In addition, when I got home I tried to finish it and the post disappeared off the edit page.

The title says it all, but God revealed to me again this morning that the gist of what God is saying through his prophet, John, is that the person who is marked with the number of the beast may not be so clear as we originally thought.  The first reading today from the Office of Readings is a reading from the 13th chapter of the book of Revelations, and that translation says, “The man’s number is six hundred sixty-six.”  To me, the revelation is telling us that anyone who denies the real presence of Jesus Christ in the Eucharist is leading people to follow the beast that is explained in this chapter of revelation.

I don’t pretend to know how to interpret all the revelations that we are given in this book written by John the Apostle, but this one is so clear to me, it keeps coming back.  Remember the gospel I wrote about on Friday was describing the real nature of what Jesus is doing in the sacrifice of the Eucharist until the end of the world.  In the 66th verse of the 6th chapter of John’s gospel, I believe he is revealing the true nature of what the devil is doing in the world until Jesus returns to bring the last judgement.  This was in the gospel reading from Saturday’s Mass.  The devil is saying, like the first disciples who left Jesus said, that the fact that Jesus is truly present, body, soul spirit and divinity in the Eucharist, and he wants us to consume him, is just to difficult to accept.

So, I will say it again, like I have said so many times before.  If we believe Jesus is truly present in the Eucharist, shouldn’t we be screaming from the rooftops for everyone to come to the altar and receive his body and blood with us, so that we can be converted and be made whole and have eternal life.  If you are Catholic, how could you ever miss Mass, for any reason?  If you are not Catholic, how could you not put the rest of your life on hold until you could start receiving him.

Psalm 43:3-4

Then will I go in to the altar of God,
the God of my gladness and joy;
Then will I give you thanks upon the harp,
O God, my God!

Gather with us or scatter…Your choice!

One thought on “God says, “His number is six hundred and sixty-six.”

Leave a Reply

