Gift: Knowledge

Standard

Rembrandt’s Saint Matthew

Reading: Go and learn the meaning of the words, ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’  I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.”  (Matthew 9:13)

&

For it is love that I desire, not sacrifice, and knowledge of God rather than holocausts.  (Hosea 6:6)

Observation: I am hearing again that God is asking me to be in relationship with others and not to be concerned with the sacrifices and piety that might make me worthy to sit at court with the Pope or some other great leader of faith.  In the first reading I heard that God is giving me the grace necessary to live out the call that He called me to in the gift that I  possess.  I believe that call is to youth ministry and I am amazingly blessed to have an amazing parish in which to live out that calling.

Personification: Love (Latin: caritas) This morning I am hearing through the reading from Hosea 6:6 that my call within my call is to be the personification of God’s love on earth to everyone that I meet.  It is not necessary to go in search of other people to love, because I see, especially after last night’s youth ministry meetings, that God has giving me enough people to be concerned about being the personification of His love for.

Prayer: Lord, please continue to supply me with the grace necessary to live out the call that you have given me and to display the fruit of Your love to everyone that I meet.  It is 7:18am and you are loved…In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

