Gift: Wisdom

Standard

Reading:  He said to them in reply, “My mother and my brothers are those who hear the word of God and act on it.”  (Luke 8:21)

Observation:  It is important for me to hear this morning that the listening to the word of God is not enough.  I must be willing to act on it.  I don’t know if it is fear of rejection, pride or just plain laziness, but I need to be ready to act at all times when I am hearing what God is calling me to do.  I hear the word of God at least once a day, I need to be paying very close attention to what He is saying and then take action immediately.

Personification:  Self-Control (Latin: continentia)  I am feeling this morning that I must act on what God is telling me and if I did that more faithfully, I would be given the grace necessary to be better able to control my selfishness and give up my will in favor of His.  It sounds like an easy task, but when you spent the better part of your life looking out for number 1 and not giving a number 2 about what God wants from you, it is hard to turn that around and not give a number 2 about what number 1 wants to do, and only listen to what God wants from you.

Prayer:  Lord, I know that I would truly be better off if I gave up my will entirely and gave you complete control of my life, but I struggle with my pride in thinking that I can show you how good I am.  I know that only you are good and I am not worthy of anything you have given me, but I ask you for the grace necessary to give up my selfishness and only follow your will for my life.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a comment