Gift: Understanding

Standard

Reading: Greater will be the future glory of this house than the former, says the LORD of hosts; And in this place I will give you peace, says the LORD of hosts.  (Haggai 2:9)

&

Send your light and fidelity, that they may be my guide And bring me to your holy mountain, to the place of your dwelling,

That I may come to the altar of God, to God, my joy, my delight. Then I will praise you with the harp, O God, my God.(Psalm 43:3-4)

&

Then he said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter said in reply, “The Messiah of God.”  (Luke 9:20)

Observation: This morning, I am hearing that the chosen people of God spent generations waiting for the Christ of God or Messiah/Saviour to come and enter the temple.  If they were waiting so desperately for the Saviour to enter their temple, so much so that the central reason for rebuilding the temple was to prepare it for his coming, how much more should I have reverence for the place where we worship?  He is here at all times.  He died to forgive our sins and to leave us an everlasting reminder and to be the real presence that exists in our temple forever.  I am not saying that I take this for granted, but I am hearing this morning that I need to be more aware of the amazing gift that the Messiah has given to us in his Eucharistic Presence that exists in our tabernacles.

Personification: Self-Control (Latin: continentia) It will be my focus today, with the grace of God, to put on the helmet of salvation to control my mind to be more aware of where God wants me to be, rather than what I have decided to be involved with.  Thanks to Jesus, I need not be concerned about the past, but only concern myself with the here and now that He is calling me to.

Prayer: Lord, help me to stay focused today and for the rest of my life on the sacrifice that you made at the cross for me and the everlasting presence that exists in the sacrament of the eucharist thanks to your free gift that you gave to us on the night before you were betrayed.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

