Gift: Knowledge

Standard

Reading: They conquered him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; love for life did not deter them from death.  (Revelation 12:11)

Observation: Today, I am feeling a connection to the original disciples of the Lord in this reading from the book of Revelation.  I will be interested to see if our Pastor chooses this reading or the reading from the book of Daniel this morning, since their are two options available to him.  Our pastoral associate, Danielle, myself and our Pastor had an amazing talk at lunch yesterday.  I am so blessed to be in the position that I am at our church, to get a front row seat as the Holy Spirit is working.  Anyway, the connection I feel to today’s reading, is due to the fact that by the blood of the lamb and their testimony allowed the disciples to conquer the Devil and I believe that in my life as well.  I don’t feel like my testimony is any great story, but the more often I get the chance to talk about it, in my own human way, I feel like the body of Christ is made more powerful here on earth.  I know that God does not need me, to build up his kingdom, but since he gave us dominion over this earth, it is within our power to bring his kingdom to bear on this world.  The final line of the verse says that the love for life did not deter them from death.  I believe we can make this earth more glorious, but it won’t change the fact that we will eventually die and hopefully be brought back to life in heaven with God for eternity.

Personification: Gentleness (Latin: mansuetudo) This morning I am feeling that I should be displayin the fruit of gentleness to everyone that I come in contact with today.  The mission of bringing the eternal life to earth is not an easy task and I feel the world telling me that I should be focusing on preparing for battle.  This morning, I am remembering our Lord’s passion when He was faced with some amazingly difficult situations in order to bring about peace and love and show us the perfect example of suffering and sacrifice.  He did not focus on preparing for battle, he communed with his brothers and broke bread and spent time in quiet reflection to plead with God to not allow the suffering of this world to continue.  I am hearing that I need to be gentle in my approach to conversion in myself and in others.  In order to lead them to the cross, I must take them by way of the Eucharist and relationship, not by force.

Prayer: Lord, help me to stay focused on the gentleness that only comes from you and rid me of my compulsion to forcefully convert the world into your way of thinking.  Please constantly remind me of the sacrifice that you already made for us and give me the grace necessary to bring your word to our world.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “Gift: Knowledge

Leave a Reply

