Gift: Fortitude (Courage)

Standard

Ninevah truck bombing.  I don’t think it is related, but I think it makes the point…

Reading:  Jonah began his journey through the city, and had gone but a single day’s walk announcing, “Forty days more and Nineveh shall be destroyed,”  (Jonah 3:4)

Observation:  The first question that came to my mind this morning was, “Who will be our Jonah?”  After that, I am asking myself if I am going to be our Jonah, because it is a foregone conclusion that we are living in a modern day Sodom and Gomorrah or Ninevah as it was in this reading.  The next question is even if we start screaming from the housetops that we are going to be destroyed, would anyone listen?  Would it be better just to start wearing our own sackcloth for the sins in our own past life and hope that others will follow?

Personification:  Self-Control (Latin: continentia)  I don’t know that denying myself certain comfort in life will have any effect on others around me.  It will take self control to not be like Jonah and walk through the nation and foretell impending doom for the people that do not repent, but I am hearing that God will call forward someone when the time is right to let us know that it is time to completely abandon our possessions and repent from our wickedness that is so prevelent in our society today.  For now, it will be my objective to receive the grace necessary to display the fruit of self control to others around me and not pursue things of this world beyond the needs of my family.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for all that you have given me and my family, and I’m sorry for not always showing my gratitude with complete obedience.  Please grant me the grace necessary to fight off the temptation toward things of this world and only reach for those things that you are telling me that I need to take care of my family.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

