Gift: Piety (Reverence)

Standard

Our Father, from the painting on the ceiling in the Sistine Chapel…

Reading:  He said to them, “When you pray, say: Father, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come.  Give us each day our daily bread and forgive us our sins for we ourselves forgive everyone in debt to us, and do not subject us to the final test.”  (Luke 11:2-4)

Observation:  I chose these verses from the Gospel reading for today, because it explains the Lucan account of the “Our Father” prayer that Jesus taught his disciples.  The first reading talks about how God had to explain his mercy to Jonah, and this prayer that Jesus taught his disciples assumes his mercy, as long as we are willing to forgive everyone in debt to us.  The verse that spoke to me directly this morning was, “Give us each day our daily bread”.  I believe God is speaking to me this morning to say that the way to pray is to assume that He will do what you are asking, because you would only ask what is in his will.  The objective for me is to see this not as a command, but rather an act of recognition that I am asking to be in concert with his will.

Personification:  Joy (Latin: gaudium)  It is my desire today and for the rest of my life to display the fruit of Joy to everyone that I meet.  This morning I am hearing the call to not only be faithful to the Word, but act as if I am already receiving the life that is promised by the life, death and resurrection of our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ.  The meaning of the verse from the Gospel reading today that I found most impactful and also from the Gospel’s of Mark and Matthew is to “Give us each day our daily bread”, or “Give us today our daily bread”, and it is probably better explained in the explanation that is found in the New American Bible, specifically in the book of Matthew(6:11).  Once again, I believe it is telling me that today I should be reacting to the fact that the kingdom of God is here with the fruit of His joy eminating from every part of my being.

Prayer:  Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name.  Thy kingdom come.  Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread.  And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.  And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Gift: Piety (Reverence)

  1. This website is full of great information and i believe that every person in the world should read this awesome website. I thank you for making such and awesome website and I love it soo much i am willing to marry it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

