Strengthen Your Brothers…(Old School Post)

Standard

 

Scripture:  “Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”  (Luke 22:31-32) NIV

Observation:  Knowing that Peter would turn his back on him, I find it important to note that Jesus does not tell him to “man up” and take one for the team.  He actually tells him to strengthen his brothers once he has turned back.  Jesus knows that Peter’s human flesh will fail, (just like he knows that ours will fail) but he prays that his faith does not fail.  I believe, we can see by the amazing spread of Christianity over the almost 2000 years since Jesus death and resurrection that Peter’s faith did not fail.  He listened well to the admonition of Jesus to strengthen his brothers and that is why the Christian faith has endured many trials set before it by the things of this world.

Application:  I am hearing today a call to follow in Peter’s footsteps and once I turn back from my own sinfulness, I should take that exact moment to strengthen my brothers.  I feel like I should always be encouraging others, but how often do I look for opportunities to really strengthen my brothers and sisters?

Prayer:  Lord, help me to find new and different ways to build up the body of Christ by strengthening my brothers and sisters in Christ.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

