Gift: Piety (Reverence)

Standard

Reading: Indeed, the word of God is living and effective, sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating even between soul and spirit, joints and marrow, and able to discern reflections and thoughts of the heart.  No creature is concealed from him, but everything is naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must render an account.  (Hebrews 4:12-13)

Observation: This morning, I am hearing in the second reading from the book of Hebrews that the word of God is able to penetrate through my own ridiculous thought patterns and see what I need to understand in order to keep me directed towards the eternal rather than the temporal.  Since no creature is concealed from him, I would assume that means me as well and I would hope that I could be sure that the account that I must render would be covered by the blood of the one that died for me, Jesus Christ.  He knows that I have fallen short in many ways in my life.

Personification: Love (Latin: caritas) Once again, I am feeling that the fruit of love is what I must be focusing on today.  Not only must I love those who are obviously my responsibility to love, but also those that fall outside of my responsibility as a husband, father and coordinator of youth ministry.  I will try and focus on the others that may not be so willing to be loved by a worthless sinner, such as myself.  It is 8:46am and you are loved…

Prayer: Lord, help me to stay focused on what you are doing in my life and not lose sight of the example that you gave us on how we should love our neighbor.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

