Gift: Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe)

Standard

Look at the video above if you are still looking for a sign, otherwise just read below…

Reading:  “This generation is an evil generation; it seeks a sign, but no sign will be given it, except the sign of Jonah.  Just as Jonah became a sign to the Ninevites, so will the Son of Man be to this generation. (Luke 29b-30)

Observation: When I read this Gospel reading for today for the first time this morning, I was putting myself in the place of Jesus when he says that this generation is an evil generation.  However, even though it may be true that this generation is an evil generation, just like the generation in Jesus’ time, it is more important that the Son of Man is taking the place of Jonah to bring the Good News to his generation.  Whereas, we are called to be like Jesus, we should be bringing the Good News to our generation.  Repentance does not need to be seen in the light of the sacrifice, but why not rather the grace of God that comes from Him in response to the repentance.  The Good News is that the Kingdom of God is here, now, and all we need to do is plug in to it by giving ourselves to our Saviour.

Personification: Faithfulness (Latin: fides) This morning I am hearing the call to display the fruit of faithfulness by walking in the light of truth.  In order to display the fruit of faithfulness, I know that I am receiving the grace of God to be able to be faithful to the Word of God and to be a disciple of Jesus Christ, and I am thankful to God for the gift of his grace.

Prayer: Lord, help me to show your gift of faithfulness to everyone I come in contact with today and for the rest of my life.  By setting an example of giving my life to you, let others be able to see your Son through me and listen more intently to what God is calling them to do with their lives.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

