Gift: Counsel

Standard

Painting by Jusepe de Ribera – Saint Francis of Assisi

Reading:  Yes, affliction and distress will come upon every human being who does evil, Jew first and then Greek.  But there will be glory, honor, and peace for everyone who does good, Jew first and then Greek.  (Romans 2:9-10)

Observation:  I am reading this morning that we are all treated the same by God.  Whether Jew or Gentile, we are receiving grace according to our actions.  When I sin, it is obvious to me that even in this life I receive affliction and distress and it is hard for me to be at peace with anything that I do.  However, the reverse is also true.  I notice that when I reject sin, I have an extreme amount of peace that comes from grace of God.  I don’t know if this was the point of Paul letter here, but it was what I was getting from it this morning.

Personification:  Peace (Latin: pax  I will try to show the fruit of peace to everyone I meet today.  Because the grace of God has saved me from my sinfulness today, I will make every effort to display my gratitude to God by displaying the fruit of peace that He is giving me as a reward for my decision to partner with him to reject sin.  With God, there is an immense peace that I truly feel in my heart, and all glory and honor goes to God who brings me peace.

Prayer: 

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen. 
Leave a Reply

