Gift: Wisdom

Standard

Reading:  What occasion is there then for boasting?  It is ruled out. On what principle, that of works? No, rather on the principle of faith.  (Romans 3:27)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning that I should guard myself against boasting.  The only reason that I, or anyone, has the ability to have faith in God is not due to anything that we have done.  Rather it is the free gift of God that was given to us in the form of faith in him to do good works through us.

Personification:  Gentleness (Latin: mansuetudo)  As I started to journal on this verse from the first reading from the book of Romans this morning, I was sure that I would talk about the fruit of faithfulness.  However, I was given the fruit of gentleness to work on today, because it is a gentle spirit that will allow me to be a better disciple.  It is in the fruit of gentleness that others will be able to see the faith that God has given me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to show the gentleness that comes from you and to be involved in the lives of those people that have invited me in through your free gift of grace for them.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

