Gift: Understanding

Standard

Reading:  Because of his affliction he shall see the light in fullness of days; Through his suffering, my servant shall justify many, and their guilt he shall bear.  (Isaiah 53:11)

Observation:  This morning at Mass, I heard Father Roy tell us that we will suffer for our faith.  I heard him reinforce what I said in my journal on Friday.  He said that we all have to figure out how we are going to suffer on our own, and it would be great if I could suffer it on my own without having to live up to some ideal version of what others think that I should be suffering.  The reality of my faith walk is that everyone who looks at it from the outside will not see what is really going on inside, and that is for us to work out in our relationship with God.

Personification:  Peace (Latin: pax)  It is up to me to find the fruit of peace in my relationship with God.  Although, it is clear to me that I will suffer for my faith, it is equally as clear to me that I can count on the grace of God to put me at peace with where God has put me in this world.  I feel completely at peace with where God has me, and I hope that I can pass that peace on to other people that I come in contact with.

Prayer:  Lord, help me bring your peace to others today and for the rest of my life.  Please let my life be an example of what a faithful disciple is capable of, both in preaching your word and living out your calling for me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

