Gift: Knowledge

Standard

Reading:  He did not doubt God’s promise in unbelief; rather, he was empowered by faith and gave glory to God and was fully convinced that what he had promised he was also able to do.  (Romans 4:20-21)

Observation:  At first, I read this reading this morning and thought that God was trying to show me that I was wrong to challenge the youth from our youth ministry.  I challenged them by asking them if they don’t have doubt, how can they have faith?  Seeing in the book of Romans this morning that Abraham did not doubt scared me at first.  However, when I went back to read it again, I realized that it said that he did not have doubt in unbelief.  Of course he had doubt, just not an unbelieving doubt.  As the reading goes on this morning, we have an even more empowering reason to have faith, even though we feel like we have just as many reasons to doubt as Abraham did.  We have the word of God, and the word of God that came alive and died for us and willingly gave his body and blood that we are called to partake of, so that we can become more like him every day.

Personification:  Love (Latin: caritas)  Faith can move mountains, but I am hearing this morning that if I can display the fruit of love to everyone I meet, I won’t feel like I need to move the mountain because I will be at peace that God put the mountain exactly where it belongs.  How is it that I can display the fruit of love? Humility that comes from the grace of God will help me show His love to everyone that I come in contact with today and for the rest of my life.

Prayer:  Lord, help me display your love and not my love.  Your love makes me feel secure in the future and I know that my love is only temporal, so I need your grace to be able to be able to display your love especially to my family and friends.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

