Gift: Fortitude

Standard

God Bless You…

Reading:  Therefore, sin must not reign over your mortal bodies so that you obey their desires.  (Romans 6:12)

Observation:  Christians have been released from the grip of sin, but sin endeavors to reclaim its victims. The antidote is constant remembrance that divine grace has claimed them and identifies them as people who are alive only for God’s interests.  This comes from the footnotes on the New American Bible that I read as a companion to the daily readings that I get from the United States Conference of Catholic Bishop’s website that supplies the daily readings to anyone who wants to read them.  I would probably be journaling on the Gospel reading today, but I had read ahead yesterday and already journaled on the end of the Gospel yesterday.

Personification:  Self-Control (Latin: continentia)  In order to display the fruit of self-control in my life, I must remember the words of explanation from the word of God today.  I must remember that it is the grace of God that has identified me as a person that is alive only for his interests.  I know that sin is always a part of this world, but I do not need to be a slave to it, because God has ransomed my life with the blood of his Son.  It is the grace of God that saves me from my selfishness and allows me to be free from sin today.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on your grace in my life and not my sinful nature, so that I can display the fruit of self-control to everyone that I meet today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

